Our Best Jackett
Our Best Jackett
Newsletter #82: Stuck in Seattle [Updated]
0:00
-2:59

Newsletter #82: Stuck in Seattle [Updated]

With apologies for the late post (and a fixed July schedule graphic)!

Hey guys, it's Scott.

You're gonna have to forgive the noise. I am officially stuck in Seattle. Our flight has been canceled twice on the way back from our vacation, so we're desperately scrambling to try and get these little monsters home. This is the second day in a row we're caught in this hotel and terrible maelstrom of cancellations of flights and all of that stuff, so it’s our payback for taking such a long vacation. But the kids are happy, we’re taking them to the Space Needle and to the Mariners store after doing everything we wanted to do already twice.

So forgive me, I was gonna have a paid post today all about how to engage with the world when you're writing about things that matter to you directly, indirectly, all of that. I'm going to do that later today for tomorrow. It's one I've been looking forward to, so that's going to be a paid post. And what I wanted to let you guys know here in the free post is that I'm going to take you with me to San Diego. San Diego is going to be a beast this year. We have a Scottober thing for the launches of our three new comiXology books: Canary, Barnstormers, and Dudley Datson and the Forever Machine. We have Dark Spaces: Wildfire coming out at IDW. So I’ve got four books launching in July, all of them were celebrating at SDCC.

Also, I'm seeing a ton of friends I haven't seen in a long time from Greg Capullo and Jock and Tula Lotay and Josh Williamson and James Tynion IV. And so what I want to do is just take you along. Instead of using this as a way of posting once a week for free subscribers, I thought I'd try and do something a little different where I post daily a few times, but I won't email the post to you. So I don't want to clog your inbox with things. But if you like this format, what I'll do is I'll still have a main post on Tuesdays for you guys that’s more substantive. But if you like it, I'd like to start throwing up things like “hey, take a look at this cool page that just came in, take a look at his cover, had a quick thought, read this book, loved this comic,” but I won't email you about them. So it'll be like “come to Our Best Jackett. Check it out if you want to.” Otherwise, you'll just get an email alert about the Tuesday posts, which will always be a little bit more robust. So anyway, get ready. I'll take you to San Diego, it'll be fun!

For paid subscribers, I'm going to try and do some extra stuff there if I can in the monster of it like talk to another creator, do a quick video with somebody else like Josh or Greg or whoever, take you to the panel, take you behind the scenes a little bit. So it will definitely be worth your $7 this month or in July to sign up for paid if you're not. You get that and all the other stuff as well, obviously. You get all the archived classes and everything. So do that:

We'll have fun! We're gonna go to San Diego together and we'll have a blast and thank you guys and wish us luck on planes, trains and automobiles out of here. Alright, take care guys!

S

Read Our Best Jackett in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Share

0 Comments
Our Best Jackett
Our Best Jackett
Anything and everything BJP, from new projects to exclusive deals and merchandise, variants, classes, ALL of it