Our Best Jackett
Our Best Jackett
Newsletter #37: From Page to Screen
1
0:00
-4:26

Newsletter #37: From Page to Screen

Some announcements both old and new!
1

Hey guys, it's Scott.

It is Monday the 29th. I can't believe it's almost December. But it's been too long since I've had a chance to connect with you guys. I know there's been a bunch of news that we put out that we’re finally able to talk about in the last couple of weeks. First thing was the Nocterra announcement. Crazy excited about this and finally able to talk about it. Nocterra got optioned by Atomic Monster, James Wan’s company at Netflix with Roberto Patino, who's working on DMZ and has done a bunch of other cool stuff, attached to write.

And Tony and I are executive producers on the project. We had a bunch of suitors for Nocterra. We were really overwhelmed and grateful by the whole process. But we loved this group of people, and Roberto has been in constant contact and has been incredibly kind about involving us in the process of his building out the story, and I can't say enough good things about his plans for the series. So, really, really thrilled about that.

Roberto Patino, Ferryman of the Nocterra Netflix series

And also, the Wytches writers room starts tomorrow. I'm crazy nervous about this, I'm in this one. So, this is my first time writing anything for TV, and I can't talk about the details of who it's for or that stuff yet, because we didn't put out a official press statement. So, I don't want to cross any lines, but it's a another big place, we’re really, really thrilled about it, and I'm sure we'll get a chance to talk about it when it gets further along in the process. But they really involved me and Jock in huge ways. I wrote the pilot, which led to the writers room, and I'm writing another couple episodes and Jock is doing the designs and a lot of the concept art for it. So, we're heavily involved. And it incorporates what was going to be our Season/Arc Two into Season One of the show. So, we're doing a lot of building out of what would have been the next season or arc of the comic in this initial big robust season of the television show. And then as soon as we're done, we are going to go back and write and draw Season/Arc/Cycle Two of Wytches. I promise, that is coming. We will do it next year. I think we're going to start having it come out around Halloween from Image.

It took a while, but we now have a (tentative) release date!

So, I'm really thrilled about it. We've had that story in our heads for years. We were going to do it right after we did Wytches Vol. 1, but Jock got hired to do design work on The Last Jedi

General Leia Organa concept art by Jock

…and then the chance to do Batman Who Laughs came around…

And so we've been putting it off for way too long, but we're very, very excited to get back to it. So, because of that, and because I've loved doing this newsletter so much, honestly—I found it really invigorating to connect with you guys in a more robust and intimate way through this and through teaching—I decided that I'm going to take a break from Twitter and other conventional social media and hand the keys of my Twitter account over to my amazing assistant and friend Tyler, who those of you taking Comic Writing 101 have met, and focus my energies here. So, I'm gonna be able to interact a little bit more with you guys in the comments, I'm going to be able to take a bit more time with these posts, and just see how it goes. If you have friends who follow me on Twitter and are not over here, or if you know anyone that you think would enjoy this newsletter, please tell them, because this is where I'm going to be both in terms of updates, in terms of teases, in terms of news and exclusives, and also in terms of just me connecting with you guys. I want to be more interactive over here as well.

So, those are the big things. But also, I'm going to be shying away from conventions and signing as much with so much on my plate. So, I am doing one signing for CGC in December with Greg Capullo, Charles Soule and Tony Daniel. It's in just a couple of weeks, so it's your last chance.

Seriously, if you want to get anything signed by me and you want to get it CDC approved and that kind of thing, this is really the big chance, because I don't have any plans to go to any conventions through the Spring or anything like that. I’ve really got to drill down and just work on the books for you guys and on the teaching and all of it, so please, please contact Comic Sketch Art and send your books down there, because I don't want you guys to miss out on me getting to sign your stuff. I do actually miss doing that and remarking stuff and all that and seeing all your books, so I hope you'll do it!

S

1 Comment
Our Best Jackett
Our Best Jackett
Anything and everything BJP, from new projects to exclusive deals and merchandise, variants, classes, ALL of it