Our Best Jackett
Our Best Jackett
Newsletter #193: Absolute Batman Sells, Absolute Wonder Woman Excels!
9
0:00
-7:11

Newsletter #193: Absolute Batman Sells, Absolute Wonder Woman Excels!

Absolute Batman has officially sold out! Don’t miss your chance to pre-order Absolute Wonder Woman before Final Order Cut-Off on Monday!
9

Hey guys, it's Scott.

It is Friday, September 27th. I can't believe it's almost October, but I also can't believe the news that came from DC yesterday to the Absolute Batman team, which is that you guys sold out the first issue already at the distributor level!

I've never had an issue sell out this early as far as I can remember, and to sell out at a quarter million copies, it's just overwhelming. I don't know how to say thank you enough to you guys. We were hoping for maybe six figures. The goal was maybe 100,000 if we were lucky. So to see it sell this much means the world to us, not for sales figures or for money or for any of that stuff, but because it means that you guys are enthusiastic about taking a chance on a different take on Batman, but also that you're there to show up for the whole initiative. The whole initiative got a bump. So the even better news was that nothing got cannibalized by the sales of Absolute Batman. No book went down because you guys were buying this. Instead, books went up. So that first week of all in Absolute Batman week, October 9th, the books all took a tick up. So the fact that you guys are excited to support comics in general, that you're there for the whole spectrum of superhero storytelling, I don't know how to explain how exciting and inspiring it is and how grateful it makes all of us at DC, but especially the whole Absolute Batman team. So thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Also, I really, really hope you'll keep it going. Monday is the Final Order Cut-Off for Absolute Wonder Woman.

Absolute Wonder Woman #1 (2024) | Cover by Hayden Sherman and Jordie Bellaire

Absolute Wonder Woman #1 is one of the best debut issues I've read in years. I know how much hard work went into it from Kelly Thompson, Hayden Sherman, Jordie Bellaire, everybody involved. But again, it's a total passion project. In this series, Kelly has reimagined Wonder Woman as the last of the Amazons. Instead of somebody who grows up on Paradise Island, she grows up instead in Hell. And we don't know why. It's a mystery as to why the Amazons put her there. But no one knows what happened to them. And instead of growing up surrounded by perfection and being coddled, Diana is a warrior who comes up in the toughest of circumstances, surrounded by monsters. And she comes back to Earth, to the surface, to discover what her true heritage is and the mystery of what happened to the Amazons. And it's epic. It's metal. It's over the top. It's a very different kind of Diana, but still true to core. And I can't say enough good things. I really, really hope you'll rally for this book the way you did for Absolute Batman. Again, it will sell out. I wouldn't tell you that if it wasn't going to, but the same way I told you “Absolute Batman will sell out. Please order your copy.” Absolute Wonder Woman #1 will sell out. So please, please, please order your copy by Monday.

For Absolute Batman, you can order the second printing now. I would highly recommend you do that. Nick's amazing second print cover is incredible.

Here’s a sneak peek courtesy of Nick Dragotta

And also we've got a Mike Deodato cover, a couple of things, but please, if you don't order this second printing and that sells out, which is also super highly likely, it'll be a while before you can get one. So please order heavy with your retailers for Absolute Wonder Woman #1, Absolute Batman #1 second printing, all of it by Monday. We just want you to get to see these books. We're so proud of them.

And also order big on Batman and Robin and all the other amazing mainline books coming out on October 9th alongside this as part of the DC All In initiative! Honestly, if you go to the store and you can't get these books, or even if you go and you look at them and decide you don't want these books, which would hurt my feelings, but still. Even if that's the case, go buy Marvel, go buy Image, go buy Dark Horse, go buy Mad Cave, buy DSTLRY, buy all of them. Like, go celebrate comics! Go to the store every week and buy comics. That's the goal of All In. Beyond any one book, beyond any one personality or any of it. So please, please, I hope you'll join the celebration. It starts next week.

So next week on October 2nd, the week before Absolute Batman and Absolute Wonder Woman come out, the DC All In Special #1 comes out.

DC All In Special #1 | Cover by Daniel Sampere and Alejandro Sánchez

It's written by me and Joshua Williamson. It's drawn by the amazing Dani Sampere and Wes Craig. It's a flipbook. One side tells you Superman's point of view, the other Darkseid’s point of view in an epic clash that's going to reshape the entire DCU and form the Absolute Universe. and set up a big mystery that's going to play out in Ram V's amazing The New Gods book…

The New Gods #1 (2024) | Cover by Nimit Malavia

…and across the DCU and Mark Waid and Dan Mora's Justice League Unlimited in a way that's going to, honestly, drive the big narrative of the entire DCU for the next few years.

Justice League Unlimited #1 (2024) | Cover by Dan Mora

So I hope you'll check it out. The fun all starts then. We're all going to party. And so if you want to see me, I'm going to be signing at Midtown Comics on release night with Nick Dragotta. So I really hope you'll come by. We're going to have like a big old school release party. So Tyler, best assistant, will link it here so you can see the address and the time and all of it.

But yes, come celebrate and party with us on Wednesday the 9th. And then that Saturday, the 12th, I'm going to be down at Third Eye Comics with Nick again, right outside Baltimore. I love that store as well. It's going to be a massive signing. We're going to party it up. We're going to play music. We're going to have fun. So I hope you'll come by that one.

Midtown Comics has an amazing exclusive variant from Dan Panosian. Third Eye Comics has an amazing variant exclusive from Sean Murphy. I'll be doing more signings after that. I'm going to try and do one at 4th World, my LCS in Smithtown, NY, probably over the weekend, maybe Sunday or if not that, then maybe the Wednesday after on October 16th, something like that. We'll figure it out. But I'll also be at L.A. Comic Con next weekend, October 4-5. I'm only going to be there a short while. I'm bringing my son, Emmett, my 13 year old, because we're going to go to a Dodgers game. Come hang out with us, I will be there if you're out in LA. So tons and tons of busy stuff. I'm going to Luca for the first time this year at the very end of October, early November.

The writer's room for us is over at the end of October, although we'll still be working on scripts for season two of Wytches. And on top of that, we're in production for season one. We're doing casting right now. It's really exciting, the voice casting. So we're listening to actors and actresses like, say the dialogue and actually record Sailor and Seb, their voices. It's just the coolest thing. So yes, but very busy October promoting All In and Absolute. It'll just keep on rolling in November. But please, please give Absolute Wonder Woman #1 a chance. The numbers are already really good. It's likely going to sell out, but we just want to blow it out of the water because the book is fucking amazing. And I'm so proud of what Kelly and Hayden and Jordie and everybody on this book did. So. Check it out, please, by Monday. And again, second printing of Absolute Batman. Order that.

Absolute Wonder Woman #1 | Art by Hayden Sherman and Jordie Bellaire

Let's do a livestream or something. I feel like I've been running around like a chicken with the head cut off the last month. But I would love to reconnect with you guys. We're going to do a breakfast. It's almost all set up for Black Jackett members at NYCC Sunday morning. And I'll be at New York Comic Con, obviously, too, at the end of October. Really excited to see all you there. I'll be there for the whole duration and very excited to say thank you to everybody there. So tell me what you want me to do a post about like, topic-wise. I could do one on superheroes or on my state of the union about what I think the market is doing right now, because I think it's taken a huge turn in just the last like six months. Whatever you want, like, post it here and I'll look at the comments and we'll do another one early next week. All right, take care you guys!

S

Discussion about this podcast

Our Best Jackett
Our Best Jackett
Anything and everything BJP, from new projects to exclusive deals and merchandise, variants, classes, ALL of it