Our Best Jackett
Our Best Jackett
Newsletter #180: Please Excuse the Interruption
1
0:00
-2:04

Newsletter #180: Please Excuse the Interruption

Dad duties and plans for the future
1

Hey guys, it's Scott.

It is Friday March 22nd already, I can hardly believe it. And I want to apologize, I was going to do this really big post about the 38th anniversary of the release of The Dark Knight Returns, a book that was so seminal in my own creative trajectory, but Quinn got sick at the beginning of the week and has been home all week. He's better today but he did not make it to school. And then I had plans to do a post that was going to be about working around life stresses. I had high hopes for that because I think it's a crucial topic and I was gonna talk about how to plan around things, how to make time in the nooks and crannies of your life to work, and how important it is to hit deadlines no matter what because you have so many people depending on you in comics. I think it's one of the things that people forget. It's not just you handing in a script. It's then the co-creator or artist waiting on that. And then after the artist, you also have a colorist, you have a letterer, you have an editor, you have all that stuff. So I was going to do a big post about that, which I will do in the future, but it's just been too hard, I’m just trying to actually get the work done and meet deadlines.

So I just wanted to say thank you. Our class last week on action scenes wound up having more people than we've had in a 102 class. I mean, the launch had a huge number and then we've been building an audience since and it exceeded any of the classes we've done. So it's been a slow build. And then this one really jumped up and I'm so happy to see it. So it's more people than I ever expected to have in a class. I love doing it. And thank you guys so much for participating. Again, if you're a free subscriber, it's $7/month (or $75/year) and you get all the classes we've done archived so far. Our last post was the video archive of the action scenes class, but paid subscribers can access the full mega-archive of classes.

And I wanted to post a little bit of what I'm working on right now, White Boat for DSTLRY. I'm so, so excited about this book. It's going to have all kinds of cool aspects to it beyond just the book itself, which we'll announce really soon. And I’ll post a little bit of Francesco's amazing art here. Just a page or so:

It's a book that's all about seafaring horror, topics dear to my heart. And yeah, next week, I promise we'll reconvene. I'll do a couple posts and we'll start talking about some of the things we could do for classes in April because I'm excited to jump back in. All right, thanks guys!

S

Give a gift subscription

Share

1 Comment
Our Best Jackett
Our Best Jackett
Anything and everything BJP, from new projects to exclusive deals and merchandise, variants, classes, ALL of it