Our Best Jackett
Our Best Jackett
Newsletter #169: A Nightmare Before Christmas
0:00
-2:31

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Our Best Jackett

Newsletter #169: A Nightmare Before Christmas

Info on what's to come this Monday on another installment of the Comic Writing class!

Hey guys, it's Scott.

It is Tuesday, December 12th, and I just wanted to do a very, very quick post, not even really a post so much as a reminder that a week from yesterday, this coming Monday, we're going to do another class. We're doing a class where we look at your work, and I'm going to have Ty put everything in a Dropbox, which will have a link at the bottom of this post for any paid subscriber, on horror and writing horror in comics. And the point is going to be how you use the tools at your disposal in comics to do your best work in horror. I think sometimes people have this feeling or belief that we're at a deficit in comics because we don't have a lot of the sensory tools of the craft that they have in TV and film, right? We don't have music. You can't do the same kind of jump scare effect. But I honestly believe we have some strengths that no other medium has, so I'd like to look at some things, some new horror like The Deviant by buddy James Tynion IV…

Cover by Joshua Hixson

Some student work by you guys…

Covers by Zander Bice and Silvio dB & Josh Jensen

A couple issues of Immortal/The Incredible Hulk also…

Covers by Alex Ross and Nic Klein

So just read all of it, we’ll maybe use all of it, but I have a lot of thoughts on this one, horror is obviously my favorite genre of all. And I think we'll have a blast. So Monday, 9.30 p.m. Eastern, come by!

And again, you can always sign up for the paid subscription if you're a free subscriber. It's a great thing to give for Christmas. You can do an annual subscription, and it's a perfect time to do it also because we're going to be signing your books soon. I'm going down to sign the Black Jackett member books. That's the highest tier of our membership. We only open it rarely where not only do you get to send in 10 books as opposed to two to get signed for free (as long as you pay shipping), but I also meet with you about your work, I have office hours where you can meet monthly, and I’ll read you stuff and all of that. That’s currently closed off for the moment, but you can get a $7 membership for yourself for this month and treat yourself for Christmas, you can always cancel it next month. You can look at all of our classes, you can binge them, see all 20 of our classes on different craft elements and then cancel if you want (although I hope you don't do that). Anyway, it'll be Monday. We'll have a ton of fun, and I'll do a post on Friday reminding you, but also I'll do the two-questions then, so I'll answer some of your questions as we get closer to the end of the week. So send some in, and yeah, let's have a great week, and I'm excited for next week. I really can't wait!

S

Give a gift subscription

Share

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Our Best Jackett to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Our Best Jackett
Our Best Jackett
Anything and everything BJP, from new projects to exclusive deals and merchandise, variants, classes, ALL of it